
 

Dear   Motor/Powersport   Vehicle   Franchisee   or   Franchisor:  

The   Utah   Legislature   enacted   the   New   Automobile   Franchise   Act   in   1996   to   protect   the   public   interest   by  
helping   to   ensure   fair   business   practices   between   motor   vehicle   franchisors   and   franchisees.   Utah   Code  
Annotated   §13-14-105(1)   requires   that   a   franchisee   or   franchisor   doing   business   in   this   State   shall   annually  
register   or   renew   its   registration   with   the   Department   and   pay   an   annual   registration   fee.   

Whether   you   are   registering   for   the   first   time   or   you   have   previously   registered   as   a   franchisee/franchisor,  
please   return   the   following   information   along   with   your   annual   registration   fee   of    $83.00.    Please   reference   the  
enclosed   form.   The   New   automobile   Franchise   Act   covers   sales   of   NEW:  

Self-propelled   vehicles,   trailers,   travel   trailers,   semi  
trailers,   etc.   Utah   Code   Ann.   §13-14-102(16)   -   (17).  

The   Utah   Legislature   similarly   enacted   the   Powersport   Vehicle   Franchise   Act   in   2002   to   ensure   fair   business  
practices   between   powersport   franchisors   and   franchisees.   That   Act   covers   sales   of   NEW   powersport  
vehicles,   including:   

All-terrain   type   I,   type   II   and   type   III   “ATV”  
vehicles,   snowmobiles,   motorcycles,   mopeds,  
motor-driven   cycles,   and   personal   watercraft.   Utah  
Code   Ann.   §13-35-102(12).  

The   Act   requires   that   powersport   vehicle   franchisees   and   franchisors   doing   business   in   Utah   register   with   the  
Department   of   Commerce   and   pay   an   annual   registration   fee.   Whether   you   are   registering   for   the   first   time   or  
have   previously   registered   as   a   powersport   franchisee   or   franchisor,   please   return   the   following   information  
along   with   your   annual   registration   fee   of    $83.00 .   See   enclosed   form.  

PLEASE   NOTE:    The   registration   fee   for   a   franchisee/franchisor   who   deals   in   both   new   motor   vehicles   and   new  
powersport   vehiclesNew   Automobile   Franchisees/Franchisors    and    Powersports   vehicles   is    $110.00.      See  
enclosed   form.  

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/code.html    click   on:    Title   13   Commerce   and   Trade,   Chapter   14   &   35  
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Please   return   this   form   with   payment.   Make    checks   payable   to   “ State   of    Utah ”   and   mail   to:  

Vehicle   Dealers   Franchise   Act   Registration  
Utah   Department   of   Commerce/Administration  
Box   146701  
Salt   Lake   City,   UT   84114-6701  

We   cannot   process   incomplete   registrations.   Please    NO   STAPLES .  

Must   check   only   one   box:  
☐  $83.00       Motor   Vehicle   Automobile   Franchise   registration
☐  $83.00     Powersport   Vehicle   Franchise   registration
☐   $110.00     Both   Motor   Vehicle   and   Automobile   and   Powersport   Franchise   registration

Registrations   not   received   by    July  1will   be   charged   a    $20.00   late   fee .  

 

If   Registering   as   Manufacturer/Franchisor,   Entity   Name  Commerce   Franchise   Dealer   Registration   Number    (if   applicable)  

If   Registering   as   a   Dealer/Franchisee,   Name   of   Dealership Utah   Dealer   Number   (from   Tax   Commission)  

Name   of   Co  Telephone   Number  

Address  City  State  Zip  

Lines-Makes   Manufactured,   Distributed,   or   Sold   -   MUST   BE   LISTED   SEPARATELY  
1.  
2.  
3.  
4.  
5.  
6.  
7.  
8.  
9.  
10.  
(USE   SEPARATE   SHEET   IF   NECESSARY)  
Name   of   Owner/Stockholder  Percentage   if   Ownership   above   5%  

☐  Check   here   if   no   ownership   above   5%
Name   of   Owner/Stockholder Percentage   if   Ownership   above   5%  

Please   continue   on   a   separate   sheet   of   paper   if   necessary.  

If   you   have   questions   about   the   registration,   please   contact   Rosario   Aguirre   at    raguirre@utah.gov    or   (801)   530-6172.  
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