
 

 
160 East 300 South, Box 146704, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6704• telephone (801) 530-6601 • facsimile (801) 530-6001 • www.dcp.utah.gov 

 
GARY R. HERBERT      

Governor 
 

SPENCER J. COX 
Lieutenant Governor 

State of Utah  
Department of Commerce 

 
FRANCINE A. GIANI THOMAS A. BRADY DANIEL O’BANNON     
Executive Director  Deputy Director  Director, Division of Consumer Protection 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

January 23, 2014 

MEDIA ALERT 

 

Division of Consumer Protection cites Labor Regulatory Compliance Office 

for deceptive mailer that targeted Utah businesses over fraudulent poster fees 
“Unregistered St. George entity sent unsolicited mailers to companies demanding $285 for labor 

posters that are available free of charge to businesses from the Utah Labor Commission”  
 (For immediate release…)  

SALT LAKE CITY, Utah ‐ Francine A. Giani, Executive Director of the Utah 

Department of Commerce, announced today that the Utah Division of Consumer 

Protection cited an unregistered entity, Labor Regulatory Compliance Office, for 

violating the Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act.  Division investigators report the 

St. George entity sent unsolicited letters to Utah companies with text suggesting 

it was a billing statement and directed recipients to pay a $285.00 fee that was 

“due now”.  The Division discovered Labor Regulatory Compliance Office is not 

a registered business with the State of Utah and does not hold a valid St. George 

business license.   

 

“This group is clearly out to scam consumers and businesses by stealing their 

profits for something the State provides to the public for free,”  stated Francine 

A. Giani, “This letters’ deception is so egregious our Citation has not attached a 

final fine amount as our Division continues to receive complaints from the 

community.” 

 

The Administrative Citation alleges that the unregistered entity committed 

deceptive acts by intentionally sending mailers to at least 80 confirmed 

recipients statewide and could face a potential fine of $2500.00 per violation.  

 

According to the Utah Labor Commission, businesses can access required labor 

posters at the following link free of charge; 

http://laborcommission.utah.gov/divisions/UOSH/RequiredPosters.html 

 

If you are a business or consumer who has received one of these mailers and  
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would like to file a complaint with the Division of Consumer Protection, log on; 

http://consumerprotection.utah.gov/complaints/index.html  

or call (801) 530‐6601 for more information. 

 

 

For media enquiries contact: 

Jennifer Bolton 

Public Information Officer 

Utah Department of Commerce 

(801) 530‐6646 office 

(801) 652‐8322 cell 

jenniferbolton@utah.gov 

Follow us on Twitter @UtahCommerce 

 

 


