(For immediate release) SALT LAKE CITY, Utah – As part of the State’s response to COVID-19, commonly known as the coronavirus, the Utah Division of Consumer Protection in the Utah Department of Commerce encourages citizens to report cases of excessive prices, commonly referred to as price gouging.
“During a declared ‘State of Emergency’, Utah law forbids excessive prices on goods and services sold at retail,” stated Chris Parker, Interim Executive Director of the Department of Commerce. “Our Division of Consumer Protection stands ready to investigate complaints and take action against violators.”
The “Price Controls During Emergencies Act” (Title 13, Chapter 41) provides for fines of $1,000 per violation, up to a maximum of $10,000 per day. “This past weekend, consumers started sending in complaints,” Division Director Daniel O’Bannon indicated. “Price gouging is not how we do things in Utah. We will promptly investigate complaints and take action to protect our citizens.” The Division encourages consumers who feel they have witnessed ‘price gouging’ in the wake of COVID-19 to file complaints. You can find the complaint form on the Division’s website, https://consumerprotection.utah.gov/.”
For more information regarding the State of Utah’s response to COVID-19, visit https://coronavirus.utah.gov/.